2019 MWA Edgar Award Winners Announced

Walter Mosley Wins Edgar

Mystery Writers of America (MWA) has announced the winners for the 2019
Edgar Awards as follows:

Best Novel: DOWN THE RIVER UNTO THE SEA, by Walter Mosley (Mulholland)※早川書房より刊行予定


Best First Novel: BEARSKIN, by James A. McLaughlin (Ecco)※早川書房より刊行予定


Best Paperback Original: IF I DIE TONIGHT, by Alison Gaylin (Morrow)※早川書房より刊行予定


Best Fact Crime: TINDERBOX, by Robert W. Fieseler (Liveright)


Best Critical/Biographical: CLASSIC AMERICAN CRIME FICTION OF THE 1920S, by Leslie S. Klinger (Pegasus)


Best Short Story: “English 398: Fiction Workshop,” by Art Taylor (Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, July/August 2018)

Best Juvenile: OTHERWOOD, by Pete Hautman (Candlewick)


Best Young Adult: SADIE, by Courtney Summers (Wednesday Books)


Best Televition Episode Teleplay: “The One That Holds Everything,” by Matthew Weiner & Donald Joh (in “The Romanoffs;” Amazon Prime Video)

Robert L. Fish Memorial Award: “How Does He Die This Time?” by Nancy Novick (Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, September/October 2018)

Mary Higgins Clark Award: THE WINDOWS OF MALABAR HILL, by Sujatga Massey (Soho Crime)


Sue Grafton Memorial Award: SHELL GAME, by Sara Paretsky (Morrow)


Grand Master Recipient: Martin Cruz Smith Raven Award Recipient: Marilyn Stasio, mystery reviewer for The New York Times

Ellery Queen Award Reciepient: Linda Landrigan, editor of Alfred
Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine

Charles Todd Award Recipient: Flankie Y. Bailey, for service to MWA

The winners were announced on April 25 at the Edgar Awards Banquet hel in New YorkCity.