The Crime Writers’ Association of Britain (CWA) has announced the shortlists for the 2019 Dagger Awards as follows:

CWA Gold Dagger:
Claire Askew: All the Hidden Truths (Hodder & Stoughton)
M W Craven: The Puppet Show (Constable)
Christobel Kent: What We Did (Sphere)
Donna Leon: Unto Us a Son is Given (William Heinemann)
Derek B Miller: American by Day (Doubleday)
Benjamin Wood: A Station on the Path to Somewhere Better (Scribner)

CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger:
Claire Askew: All the Hidden Truths (Hodder & Stoughton)
Alex Dahl: The Boy at the Door (Head of Zeus)
Chris Hammer: Scrublands (Wildfire)
Vicky Newham: Turn a Blind Eye (HQ)
Laura Shepherd-Robinson: Blood &Sugar (Mantle)
Vanda Symon: Overkill (Orenda)

CWA ALCS Gold Dagger for Non-fiction:
Sue Black: All That Remains (Doubleday)
Mikita Brottman: An Unexplained Death (Canongate)
Claire Harman: Murder by the Book (Viking)
Kirk Wallace Johnson: The Feather Thief (Hutchinson)
Ben Macintyre: The Spy and the Traitor (Viking)
Hallie Rubenhold: The Five (Doubleday)

CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger:
Megan Abbott: Give Me Your Hand (Picador)
Dan Fesperman: Safe Houses (Head of Zeus)
Luke Jennings: Killing Eve: No Tomorrow (John Murray)
Stephen Mack Jones: Lives Laid Away (Soho Crime)
Holly Watt: To the Lions (Bloomsbury)
Tim Willocks: Memo from Turner (Jonathan Cape)

CWA Sapere Historical Dagger:
Liam McIlvanney: The Quaker (Harper Fiction)
S G MacLean: Destroying Angel (Quercus Fiction)
Abir Mukherjee: Smoke and Ashes (Harvill Secker)
Alex Reeve: The House on Half Moon Street (Raven Books)
C J Sansom: Tombland (Mantle)
Laura Shepherd-Robinson: Blood & Sugar (Mantle)

CWA International Dagger:
Dov Alfon: A Long Night in Paris, tr Daniella Zamir (Maclehose Press)
Karin Brynard: Weeping Waters, tr Maya Fowler & Isobel Dixon (World Noir)
Gianrico Carofiglio: The Cold Summer, tr Howard Curtis (Bitter Lemon Press)
Keigo Higashino: Newcomer, tr Giles Murray (Little, Brown)

Hakan Nesser: The Root of Evil, tr Sarah Death (Mantle)
Cay Rademacher: The Forger, tr Peter Millar (Arcadia Books)

CWA Short Story Dagger:
Martin Edwards: “Strangers in a Pub” (in Ten Year Stretch, edited by Martin Edwards and Adrian Muller; No Exit Press)
Syd Moore: “Death Becomes Her” (in The Strange Casebook, by Syd Moore; Point Blank Books)
Danuta Reah: “The Dummies’ Guide to Serial Killing” (in The Dummies’ Guide to Serial Killing and other Fantastic Female Fables, by Danuta Reah [aka. Danuta Kot]; Fantastic Books)
Teresa Solana: “I Detest Mozart” (in The First Prehistoric Serial Killer and Other Stories, by Teresa Solana; Bitter Lemon Press)
Lavie Tidhar: “Bag Man” (in The Outcast Hours, edited by Mahvesh Murad and Jared Shurin; Solaris)

CWA Dagger in the Library:
(Honoring “a body of work by an established crime writer that has long been popular with borrowers from libraries”)
M C Beaton
Mark Billingham
John Connolly
Kate Ellis
C J Sansom
Cath Staincliffe

CWA Debut Dagger (for unpublished writers):
Shelley Burr: Wake
Jerry Krause: The Mourning Light
Catherine Hendricks: Hardways
David Smith: The Firefly
Fran Smith: A Thin Sharp Blade

CWA Diamond Dagger Recipient:
Robert Goddard

The winners for the 2019 Dagger Awards will be announced on October 24 at the Grange City Hotel in London.