005/2009 Macavity Award Winners

The Mystery Readers International announced the winners for the 2009 Macavity Awards as follows:

Best Mystery Novel:

Deborah Crombie: Where Memories Lie (William Morrow)

Best First Mystery:

Stieg Larsson: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo (Knopf)

Best Nonfiction/Critical:

Frankie Y. Bailey: African American Mystery Writers: A Historical & Thematic Study (McFarland)

Best Mystery Short Story:

Dana Cameron: “The Night Things Changed” (Wolfsbane & Mistletoe, edited by Charlaine Harris & Toni L. P. Kelner, Penguin)

Sue Feder Memorial Historical Mystery:

Rhys Bowen: A Royal Pain (Berkley)

The winners were announced on October 15 during the Bouchercon Opening Ceremonies in Indianapolis, Indiana.