017/2010 Hammett Prize Nominees

The International Association of Crime Writers has announce the nominees for the 2010 Hammett Prize as follows:

Megan Abbott, BURY ME DEEP (Simon & Schuster)

Ace Atkins, DEVIL’S GARDEN (Putnam)

Jedediah Berry, THE MANUAL OF DETECTION (The Penguin Press)

Walter Mosley, THE LONG FALL (Riverhead)

George Pelecanos, THE WAY HOME (Little, Brown)

The winner will be announced at the Bloody Words Conference in Toronto in May.

018/2010 Agatha Award Nominees

Malice Domestic has announced the nominees for the 2010 Agatha Awards as follows:

Best Novel:

Swan for the Money by Donna Andrews (St. Martin’s Minotaur)

Bookplate Special by Lorna Barrett (Berkley Prime Crime)

Royal Flush by Rhys Bowen (Berkley Prime Crime)

A Brutal Telling by Louise Penny (Minotaur Books)

Air Time by Hank Phillippi Ryan (MIRA)

Best First Novel:

For Better For Murder by Lisa Bork (Midnight Ink)

The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie by Alan Bradley (Delacorte Press)

Posed for Murder by Meredith Cole (St. Martin’s Minotaur)

The Cold Light of Mourning by Elizabeth Duncan (St. Martin’s Press)

In the Shadow of Gotham by Stefanie Pintoff (Minotaur Books)

Best Non-fiction:

Duchess of Death by Richard Hack (Phoenix Books)

Talking About Detective Fiction by P.D. James (Knopf)

Blood on the Stage by 1925-1950 by Amnon Kabatchnik (Scarecrow Press)

Dame Agatha’s Shorts by Elena Santangelo (Bella Rosa Books)

The Talented Miss Highsmith by Joan Schenkar (St. Martin’s Press)

Best Short Story:

“Femme Sole” by Dana Cameron, Boston Noir (Akashic Books)

“Handbaskets, Drawers and a Killer Cold” by Kaye George (Crooked ezine)

“The Worst Noel” by Barb Goffman, The Gift of Murder (Wolfmont Press)

“On the House” by Hank Phillippi Ryan, Quarry (Level Best Books)

“Death Will Trim Your Tree” by Elizabeth Zelvin, The Gift of Murder (Wolfmont Press)

Best Children’s/Young Adult:

The Morgue and Me by John C. Ford (Viking Juvenile)

The Hanging Hill by Chris Grabenstein (Random House)

The Case of the Poisoned Pig by Lewis B. Montgomery (Kane Press)

The Other Side of Blue by Valerie O. Patterson (Clarion Books)

The Case of the Cryptic Crinoline by Nancy Springer (Philomel)

Lifetime Achievement Award: Mary Higgins Clark

Poirot Award: William Link

The winners will be announce on May 1 during the Malice Domestic convention held at Marriott Hotel in Arlington, Virginia.