2010 Arthur Ellis Award Nominees

The Crime Writers of Canada has announced the 2010 Arthur Ellis Awards Shortlist as follows:

Best Crime Novel

Anthony Bidulka – Aloha, Candy Hearts (Insomniac Press)

R.J. Harlick – Arctic Blue Death (RendezVous Crime)

Lee Lamothe – The Finger’s Twist (Ravenstone)

James W. Nichol – Death Spiral (McArthur & Co.)

Howard Shrier – High Chicago (Vintage Canada/Random House)

Best First Crime Novel

Alan Bradley – The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie (Doubleday Canada)

Elizabeth Duncan – The Cold Light of Mourning (Minotaur Books)

C.B. Forrest – Weight of Stones (RendezVous Crime)

Eugene Meese – A Magpie’s Smile (NeWest Press)

Dennis Richard Murphy – Darkness at the Break of Dawn (Harper Collins)

Best French Crime Book

Genevieve Lefebvre – Je compte les morts (Groupe Librex)

Jean Lemieux – Le mort du chemin des Arsene (la courtee echelle)

Jean-Jacques Pelletier – La Faim de la Terre 1 & 2 (Editions Alire Inc.)

Diane Vincent – Peaux de chagrins (Les Editions Triptyques)

Best Juvenile Crime Book

Barbara Hayworth Attard – Haunted (HarperCollins)

Vicki Grant – Not Suitable for Family Viewing (HarperCollins)

Norah McClintock – Homicide Related: a Ryan Dooley Mystery (Red Deer Press)

Arthur Slade – The Hunchback Assignments (HarperCollins)

Tim Wynne-Jones – The Uninvited (Candlewick)

Best Crime Nonfiction

Patrick Brode – The Slasher Killings (Painted Turtle Press)

Alex Caine – The Fat Mexican (Random House of Canada)

Terry Gould – Murder Without Borders (Random House of Canada)

Robert Remington and Sherri Zickefoose – Runaway Devil (McClelland)

Jon Wells – Postmortem (John Wiley & Sons)

Best Crime Short Story

Rick Mofina – Backup (Ottawa Magazine)

Dennis Richard Murphy – Prisoner in Paradise (Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine)

James Petrin – Nothing is Easy (Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine)

Twist Phelan – Time Will Tell (“The Prosecution Rests” by Little Brown)

James Powell – Clowntown Pajamas ((Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine)

Best Unpublished First Crime Novel – Unhanged Arthur Pam Barnsley – This Cage of Bones Deryn Collier – Confined Space Gloria Ferris – Corpse Flower Blair Hemstock – Bait of Pleasure Peter Kirby – Putting Them Down

2010 Award Winners Banquet will held in Toronto on Thursday, May 27th, 2010

2010 Los Angeles Times Book Prize winners

The Los Angeles Times has announced at the Festival of Books on April 22 that THE GHOST OF BELFAST, by Stuart Neville (Soho Press, 2009) won the 2010 Los Angeles Times Book Prize in the mystery/thriller category. Rafael Yglesias, who has written a couple of crime novels, won the LATimes Books Prize in the fiction category for A HAPPY MARRIAGE (Scribner, 2009). (April 24, 2010)