2010 CWA Dagger Award Winners

The Crime Writers Association of Britain announced the first set of winners for the 2010 Dagger Awards as follows:

CWA International Dagger Award:

The Darkest Room, by Johan Theorin (Doubleday)

CWA Gold Dagger for Non-fiction:

Aftermath: The Omagh Bombing and the Families’ Pursuit of Justice, by Ruth Dudley Edwards (Harvill Secker)

CWA Short Story Dagger:

“Can You Help Me Out There,” by Robert Ferrigno (from Thriller 2, edited by Clive Cussler; Mira)

CWA Dagger in the Library (“awarded to an author for a body of work, not one single title”):

Ariana Franklin (Random House)

CWA Debut Dagger (“a new-writing competition open to anyone writing in the English language who has not yet had a novel published commercially”):

A Place of Dying, by Patrick Eden (UK)

2010 CWA Dagger Award shortlists

The Crime Writers Association of Britain has announced the second set of the 2010 Dagger Award Shorlists as follows:

CWA Gold Dagger 2010:

・ Conman, by Richard Asplin (No Exit Press)

・ Blacklands, by Belinda Bauer (Corgi)

・ Blood Harvest, by S. J. Bolton (Bantam Press)

・ Rain Gods, by James Lee Burke (Orion)

・ Shadowplay, by Karen Campbell (Hodder & Stoughton)

・ The Strange Case of the Composer and His Judge, by Patricia Duncker (Bloomsbury)

・ Still Midnight, by Denise Mina (Orion)

・ The Way Home, by George Pelecanos (Orion)

CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger 2010 (sponsored by Ian Fleming Publications Ltd.):

・ 61 Hours, by Lee Child (Bantam Press)

・ A Loyal Spy, by Simon Conway (Hodder & Stoughton)

・ Gone, by Mo Hayder (Bantam Press)

・ Slow Horses, by Mick Herron (Robinson)

・ The Dying Light, by Henry Porter (Orion)

・ Innocent, by Scott Turow (Macmillan)

・ The Gentlemen’s Hour, by Don Winslow (Heinemann)

CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger 2010:

・ Acts of Violence, by Ryan David Jahn (Pan)

・ Cut Short, by Leigh Russell (No Exit Press)

・ Martyr, by Rory Clements (John Murray)

・ Random, by Craig Robertson (Simon & Schuster)

・ Stop Me, by Richard Jay Parker (Allison & Busby)

・ Rupture, by Simon Lelic (Picador)

・ The Holy Thief, by William Ryan (Mantle )

・ The Pull of the Moon, by Diane Janes (Robinson)

The winners will be announced on October 8 in London.