The Private Eye Writers of America has announced the nominees for the 2011 Shamus Awards as follows:

Best Hardcover P.I. Novel:

No Mercy, by Lori Armstrong (Touchstone)

The First Rule, by Robert Crais (Putnam)

Voyeur, by Daniel Judson (Minotaur)

If the Dead Rise Not, by Philip Kerr (Putnam)

Naked Moon, by Domenic Stansberry (Minotaur)

Best First P.I. Novel:

In Search of Mercy, by Michael Ayoob (Minotaur)

One Man’s Paradise, by Douglas Corleone (Minotaur)

Rogue Island, by Bruce DeSilva (Forge)

Random Violence, by Jassy MacKenzie (Soho)

City of Dragons, by Kelli Stanley (Minotaur)

Best Paperback Original P.I. Novel:

Hostage Zero, by John Gilstrap (Kensington)

Nightshade, by Tom Henighan (Dundurn Press)

Mister X, by John Lutz (Pinnacle)

The Panic Zone, by Rick Mofina (Mira)

Asia Hand, by Christopher G. Moore (Grove/Atlantic)

The Little Death, by P.J. Parrish (Pocket Star)

Best P.I. Short Story:

“The God of Right and Wrong,” by Steven Gore (Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine, January/February 2010)

“The Lamb Was Sure to Go,” by Gar Anthony Haywood (Alfred Hitchcock’s

Mystery Magazine, November 2010)

“The Girl in the Golden Gown,” by Robert S. Levinson (Ellery Queen’s

Mystery Magazine, March/April 2010)

“Phelan’s First Case.” by Lisa Sandlin (Lone Star Noir, edited by Bobby

Byrd and Johnny Byrd; Akashic Books)

“A Long Time Dead,” by Mickey Spillane and Max Allan Collins (The Strand Magazine, June-Sept. 2010)

The winners will be anounced on September 16 in St. Louis, Missouri.