2011 Macavity and Barry Awards Winners

The Mystery Readers International announced the winners for the 2011 Macavity Awards as follows

Best Mystery Novel: BURY YOUR DEAD, by Louise Penny (Minotaur)

Best First Mystery Novel: ROGUE ISLAND, by Bruce DeSilva (Forge)

Best Mystery-Related Nonfiction: AGATHA CHRISTIE’S SECRET NOTEBOOKS: Fifty Years of Mysteries in the Making, by Juhn Curran (HarperCollins)

Best Mystery Short Story: “Swing Shift,” by Dana Cameron (CRIMES BY MOONLIGHT, edited by Charlaine Harris; Berkley)

Sue Feder Memorial Historical Mystery: CITY OF DRAGONS, by Kelli Stanley (Minotaur)


Deadly Pleasures announced the winners for the 2011 Barry Awards as follows:

Best Novel: THE LOCK ARTIST, by Steve Hamilton (Minotaur)


Best First Novel: THE POACHER’S SON, by Paul Doiron (Minotaur)

Best British Novel: THE WOODCUTTER, by Reginald Hill (HarperCollins)

Best Paperback Original: FEVER AT THE BONE, by Val McDermid (Harper)

Best Thriller: 13 HOURS, by Deon Meyer (Grove Atlantic)

Best Short Story: “The List,” by Loren D. Estleman (Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, May 2010)