2012 Left Coast Crime Award Nominations Announced


The Lefty Award

(for the best humorous mystery novel)

 Donna Andrews, The Real Macaw (Minotaur)

 Jess Lourey, October Fest (Midnight Ink)

 Kris Neri, Magical Alienation (Red Coyote Press)

 Cindy Sample, Dying for a Dance (L & L Dreamspell)

 John Vorhaus, The Albuquerque Turkey (Crown)

The Bruce Alexander Memorial Historical Mystery Award

(for mystery novels covering events before 1960)

 Rhys Bowen, Naughty in Nice (Berkley Prime Crime)

 Rebecca Cantrell, A Game of Lies (Forge)

 Ann Parker, Mercury’s Rise (Poisoned Pen Press)

 Priscilla Royal, A Killing Season (Poisoned Pen Press)

 Jeri Westerson, Troubled Bones (Minotaur)

 Jacqueline Winspear, A Lesson in Secrets (Harper)

The Golden Nugget

(a special award given to the best mystery set in California,

in recognition of the location of this year’s convention)

 Jan Burke, Disturbance (Simon & Schuster)

 Michael Connelly, The Drop (Little, Brown)

 Janet Dawson, Bit Player (Perseverance Press)

 Sue Grafton, V Is for Vengeance (Putnam)

 Kelli Stanley, City of Secrets (Minotaur)


(a special award this year for the best first mystery novel)

 Sally Carpenter, The Baffled Beatlemaniac Caper (Oak Tree Press)

 Darrell James, Nazareth Child (Midnight Ink)

 Tammy Kaehler, Dead Man’s Switch (Poisoned Pen Press)

 Rochelle Staab, Who Do, Voodoo? (Berkley Prime Crime)

The 22nd annual Left Coast Crime Convention will take place in Sacramento, California, March 29 through April 1, 2012.