2012 CWA Dagger Award Shortlists (part1)

The Crime Writers’ Association of Britain has announced the shortlists for six CWA Daggers as follows:

CWA International Dagger:

The Potter’s Field, by Andrea Camilleri, translated by Stephen Sartarelli (Mantle)

I Will Have Vengeance, by Maurizio de Giovanni, translated by Anne Milano Appel (Hersilia Press)

Until Thy Wrath Be Past, by Asa Larsson, translated by Laurie Thompson (Quercus/MacLehose)

Trackers, by Deon Meyer, translated by T.K.L Seegers (Hodder & Stoughton)

Phantom, by Jo Nesbø, translated by Don Bartlett (Harvill Secker)

The Dark Valley, by Valerio Varesi, translated by Joseph Farrell (Quercus/MacLehose)

CWA Non-fiction Dagger:

To Live Outside the Law, by Leaf Fielding (Serpent’s Tail)

Dark Market, by Misha Glenny (Vintage)

Hood Rat, by Gavin Knight (Pan Macmillan)

The Negotiator, by Ben Lopez (Little, Brown)

Witness, by David Smith with Carol Ann Lee (Mainstream)

The Eleventh Day, by Anthony Summers and Robbyn Swan (Transworld/Doubleday)

CWA Short Story Dagger:

“The Golden Hour,” by Bernie Crossthwaite (from Guilty Consciences, edited by Martin Edwards; Severn House

“Hixton,” by William Kent Krueger (from Crimes by Moonlight, edited by Charlaine Harris; Gollancz)

“The Message,” by Margaret Murphy (from Murder Squad: Best Eaten Cold and Other Stories, edited by Martin Edwards; The Mystery Press)

“He Did Not Always See Her,” by Claire Seeber (from Guilty Consciences)

“A Long Time Dead,” by Mickey Spillane and Max Allan Collins (from The Best American Mystery Stories 2011, edited by Harlan Coben and Otto Penzler; Corvus) (first published in The Strand Magazine #31, June-September 2010)

“Laptop,” by Cath Staincliffe (from Murder Squad: Best Eaten Cold and Other Stories)

CWA Ellis Peters Historical Dagger:

The Crown, by Nancy Bilyeau (Orion)

I Will Have Vengeance, by Maurizio de Giovanni (Hersilia Press)

Bitter Water, by Gordon Ferris (Corvus)

Prague Fatale, by Philip Kerr (Quercus)

Icelight, by Aly Monroe (John Murray)

Sacrilege, by S.J. Parris (HarperCollins)

A Willing Victim, by Laura Wilson (Quercus)

CWA Dagger in the Library:

Belinda Bauer

S.J. Bolton

Susan Hill

Peter May

Steve Mosby

Imogen Robertson

CWA Debut Dagger:

Death by Glasgow, by Jon Breakfield

Easy to Die, by Sean Carpenter

The Watchers, by Karen Catalona

One Man Army, by Bram E. Gieben

Beached, by Sandy Gingras

Trick, by Sean Hancock

Broken-Winged Bird, by Renata Hill

Death Knell, by Rob Lowe

Chasing Shadows, by Lesley McLaren

The Wrong Domino, by Simon Miller

Message from Panama, by Britt Vasarhelyi

Port of Spain, by Elizabeth Wells

The winners will be announced on July 5 in London.