2013 CWC Arthur Ellis Award Winners Announced


The Crime Writers of Canada (CWC) has announced the winners for the 2013 Arthur Ellis Awards as follows:

Best First Novel:

The Haunting of Maddy Clare, by Simone St. James (NAL)

Best Novel:

Until the Night, by Giles Blunt (Random House Canada)

Best Novella:

Contingency Plan, by Lou Allin (Orca Rapid Reads)

Best Short Story:

Spring-Blade Knife,” by Yasuko Thanh (from Floating Like the Dead; McClelland & Stewart)

Best Non-fiction:

The Devil’s Cinema: The Untold Story behind Mark Twitchell’s Kill Room, by Steve Lillebuen (McClelland & Stewart)

Best Juvenile/Young Adult:

Becoming Holmes, by Shane Peacock (Tundra)

Best Crime Book in French:

La Nuit des albinos: Sur les traces de Max O’Brien, by Mario Bolduc (Libre Expression)

Best Unpublished First Crime Novel (“The Unhanged Arthur”):

Sins Revisited, by Coleen Steele

*   *   *   *   *   *

2013 CWA Dagger Award Shortlists (Part One) Announced

(CWA賞ショートリスト Part 1)

The Crime Writers’ Association of Britain (CWA) has announced the nominees for six Dagger Awards as follows:


The CWA International Dagger:

Alex, by Pierre Lemaitre, translated by Frank Wynne (Quercus)

The Missing File, by D.A. Mishani, translated by Steven Cohen (Quercus)

Two Soldiers, by Anders Roslund and Borge Hellstrom, translated by Kari Dickson (Quercus)

Ghost Riders of Ordebec, by Fred Vargas, translated by Sian Reynolds (Harvill Secker)

Death in Sardinia, by Marco Vichi, translated by Stephen Sartarelli (Hodder & Stoughton)

The Collini Case, by Ferdinand von Schirach, translated by Anthea Bell (Michael Joseph)

The CWA Non-Fiction Dagger:

Midnight in Peking, by Paul French (Penguin Viking)

The Boy in the River, by Richard Hoskins (Pan Macmillan)

Against a Tide of Evil, by Mukesh Kapila, with Damien Lewis (Mainstream)

A Fine Day for a Hanging, by Carol Ann Lee (Mainstream)

Injustice, by Clive Stafford Smith (Random House)

Murder at Wrotham Hill, by Diana Souhami (Quercus)

The CWA Ellis Peters Historical Dagger:

The Heretics, by Rory Clements (John Murray)

Pilgrim Soul, by Gordon Ferris (Corvus)

The Paris Winter, by Imogen Robertson (Headline)

Dead Men and Broken Hearts, by Craig Russell (Quercus)

The Twelfth Department, by William Ryan (Mantle)

The Scent of Death, by Andrew Taylor (HarperCollins)

The CWA Short Story Dagger:

Method Murder,” by Simon Brett (from The Mammoth Book of Best British Crime 10, edited by Maxim Jakubowski; Constable)

Stairway C,” by Piero Colaprico (from Outsiders, edited by Ben Faccini; MacLehose Press)

Come Away with Me,” by Stella Duffy (from The Mammoth Book of Best British Crime 10)

The Case of Death and Honey,” by Neil Gaiman (from The Mammoth Book of Best British Crime 10)

Ferengi,” by Carlo Lucarelli (from Outsiders)

Lost and Found,” by Zoe Sharp (from Vengeance, edited by Lee Child; Corvus)

The CWA Dagger in the Library:

Belinda Bauer

Alison Bruce

Gordon Ferris

Christopher Fowler

Elly Griffiths

Michael Ridpath

The CWA Debut Dagger:

Aine Oomhnaill (Ireland), The Assassin’s Keeper

Finn Clarke (UK), Call Time

Sue Dawes (UK), TAG

Alex Sweeney (UK), Working in Unison

Marie Hannan-Mandel (USA), Lesson Plan for Murder

Ron Puckering (UK), Honour or Justice

David Evans (UK), Torment

Jayne Barnard (Canada), When the Bow Breaks

D.B. Carew (Canada), Fighting Darkness: The Killer Trail

Mike Craven (UK), Born in a Burial Gown

Emma Melville (UK), The Journeyman

Joanna Dodd (UK), A Cure for All Evils

The winners in these six categories will be announced on July 15 in London.