2013 Shamus Award Nominees


The Private Eye Writers of America (PWA) has announced the nominees for the 2013 Shamus Awards as follows:

Best Hardcover P.I. Novel:

Robert B. Parker’s Lullaby, by Ace Atkins (Putnam)

Taken, by Robert Crais (Putnam)

Hunting Sweetie Rose, by Jack Fredrickson (Minotaur)

Blues in the Night, by Dick Lochte (Severn House)

The Other Woman, by Hank Phillippi Ryan (Forge)

Best First P.I. Novel:

Hush Money, by Chuck Greaves (Minotaur)

Murder Unscripted, by Clive Rosengren (Perfect Crime)

Black Fridays, by Michael Sears (Putnam)

Racing the Devil, by Jaden Terrell (Permanent Press)

The Twenty-Year Death, by Ariel S. Winter (Hard Case Crime)

Best Original Paperback P.I. Novel:

Death Warmed Over, by Kevin J. Anderson (Kensington)

And She Was, by Alison Gaylin (Harper)

Archie Meets Nero Wolfe, by Robert Goldsborough (Mysterious Press/Open Road)

False Negative, by Joseph Koenig (Hard Case Crime)

Pulse, by John Lutz (Kensington)

Best P.I. Short Story:

The Sequel,” by Jeffery Deaver (Strand Magazine, November-February 2012-2013)

After Cana,” by Terence Faherty (Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, September/October 2012)

O’Nelligan and the Lost Fates,” by Michael Nethercott (Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine, March 2012)

Illegitimati Non Carborundum,” by Stephen D. Rogers (Crimespree Magazine, May/June 2012)

Ghost Negligence,” by John Shepphird (Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine, July/August 2012)

Best Indie P.I. Novel:

Stranger in Town, by Cheryl Bradshaw (CreateSpace)

Enamored, by O’Neil De Noux (CreateSpace)

One-Eyed Jack, by Christopher J. Lynch (CreateSpace)

White Heat, by Paul D. Marks (Timeless Skies)

Devil May Care, by James Mullaney (James Mullaney Books)

The winners will be announced on September 20 during Bouchercon in Albany, New York.