2013 Macavity Award Nominees Announced


The Mystery Readers International/Mystery Readers Journal has announced the nominees for the 2013 Macavity Award as follows:

Best Mystery Novel:

Gone Girl, by Gillian Flynn (Crown)

The Black House, by Peter May (Silver Oak)

The Beautiful Mystery, by Louise Penny (Minotaur) 

The Other Woman, by Hank Philippi Ryan (Forge) 

The Art Forger, by B.A. Shapiro (Algonquin Books) 

The Twenty Year Death, by Ariel S. Winter (Hard Case Crime) 

Best Mystery First Novel: 

Low Country Boil, by Susan M. Boyer (Henery Press)

Yesterday’s Echo, by Matt Coyle (Oceanview Publishing)

Don’t Ever Get Old, by Daniel Friedman (Minotaur Books -Thomas Dunn)

Mr. Churchill’s Secretary, by Susan Elia MacNeal (Random House – Bantam)

The Expats, by Chris Pavone (Crown)

The Last Policeman: A Novel, by Ben H. Winters (Quirk Books)


Best Mystery Non-Fiction: 

Books to Die For: The World’s Greatest Mystery Writers on the World’s Greatest Mystery Novels, edited by John Connolly and Declan Burke (Simon & Schuster – Atria/Emily Bestler)

Midnight in Peking: How the Murder of a Young Englishwoman Haunted the Last Days of Old China, by Paul French (Penguin)

In Pursuit of Spenser: Mystery Writers on Robert B. Parker and the Creation of an American Hero, edited by Otto Penzler (BenBella/Smart Pop) 

Best Mystery Short Story: 

The Lord Is My Shamus,” by Barb Goffman (in Chesapeake Crimes: This Job Is Murder; Wildside)

The Unremarkable Heart,” by Karin Slaughter (in Mystery Writers of America Presents Vengeance; Little, Brown – Mulholland Books)

Thea’s First Husband,” by B.K. Stevens (in Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine, June 2012) 

When Duty Calls,” by Art Taylor (in Chesapeake Crimes: This Job is Murder; Wildside) 

Blind Justice,” by Jim Fusilli (in Mystery Writers of America Presents Vengeance; Little, Brown – Mulholland Books) 

The Sequel,” by Jeffrey Deaver (in The Strand Magazine, November-February 2012-2013)

Sue Feder Historical Memorial Award: 

A City of Broken Glass, by Rebecca Cantrell (Forge) 

Princess Elizabeth’s Spy, by Susan Elia MacNeal (Random House – Bantam) 

The Confession, by Charles Todd (HarperCollins) 

An Unmarked Grave, by Charles Todd (HarperCollins) 

Elegy For Eddie, by Jacqueline Winspear (HarperCollins)

The winners will be announced at Bouchercon to be held this September in Albany, New York.