2013 Macavity Award Winners Announced


The Mystery Readers International/Mystery Readers Journal announced the winners for the 2013 Macavity Awards on Sepember 19 in Albany, New York at Bouchercon as follows:

Best Mystery Novel:

The Beautiful Mystery by Louise Penny (Minotaur)

Best First Mystery Novel:

Don’t Ever Get Old by Daniel Friedman (Minotaur Books-Thomas Dunn)

Best Mystery Non-Fiction:

Books to Die For: The World’s Greatest Mystery Writers on the World’s Greatest Mystery Novels, edited by John Connolly and Declan Burke (Simon & Schuster – Atria/Emily Bestler)

Best Mystery Short Story:

The Lord Is My Shamus” by Barb Goffman in Chesapeake Crimes: This Job Is Murder (Wildside)

Sue Feder Historical Memorial Award:

An Unmarked Grave by Charles Todd (HarperCollins)