Agatha Award Nominees Announced


Malice Domestic has announced the nominees for the 2014 Agatha Awards as follows:

Best Historical Novel:(歴史小説部門)

Heirs and Graces by Rhys Bowen (Berkley)

Death in the Time of Ice by Kaye George (Untreed Reads Publishing)

A Friendly Game of Murder by JJ Murphy (Signet)

Murder in Chelsea by Victoria Thompson (Berkley Prime Crime)

A Question of Honor by Charles Todd (William Morrow)

Best Children’s/YA Nominations:(児童書/YA部門)

The Testing by Joelle Charbonneau (HMH Books for Young Readers)

Traitor in the Shipyard: A Caroline Mystery by Kathleen Ernst (American Girl Mysteries)

Andi Unexpected by Amanda Flower (Zonderkidz)

Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library by Chris Grabenstein (Random House Books)

Code Busters Club: Mystery of the Pirate’s Treasure by Penny Warner (Edgmont USA)

Best Contemporary Novel:(長篇部門)

Through the Evil Days by Julia Spencer-Fleming (Minotaur Books)

Pagan Spring by G.M. Malliet (Minotaur Books)

How the Light Gets In by Louise Penny (Minotaur Books)

Clammed Up by Barbara Ross (Kensington Books)

The Wrong Girl by Hank Phillippi Ryan (Forge Books)

Best Nonfiction:(ノンフィクション部門)

Georgette Heyer by Jennifer Kloester (Source Books Inc.)

Mastermind: How to Think Like Sherlock Holmes by Maria Konnikova (Viking Penguin)

Not Everyone’s Cup of Tea: An Interesting & Entertaining History of Malice Domestic’s First 25 Years by Verena Rose and Rita Owen (editors) (Wildside Press)

The Hour of Peril: The Secret Plot to Murder Lincoln Before the Civil War by Daniel Stashower (Minotaur Books)

Best First Novel:(新人部門)

Death Al Dente by Leslie Budewitz (Berkley Prime Crime)

You Cannoli Die Once by Shelley Costa (Pocket Books)

Board Stiff by Kendel Lynn (Henery Press)

Kneading to Die by Liz Mugavero (Kensington)

Front Page Fatality by LynDee Walker (Henery Press)

Best Short Story:(短篇部門)

“Evil Little Girl” by Barb Goffman (in Don’t Get Mad, Get Even; Wildside Press)

“Nightmare” by Barb Goffman (in Don’t Get Mad, Get Even;Wildside Press)

“The Hindi Houdini” by Gigi Pandian (in Fish Nets; Wildside Press)

“Bread Baby” by Barbara Ross (in Best new England Crime Stories 2014: Stone Cold; Level Best Books)

“The Care and Feeding of House Plants” by Art Taylor (Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, March/April 2013)

Lifetime Achievement Award Recipients:(生涯功労賞)

Dorothy Cannell

Joan Hess

Margaret Maron

Poirot Award Recipient:(ポワロ賞)

Tom Schantz

The Agatha Award winners will be announced on May 3 at the Malice Domestic convention to be held in Bethesda, Maryland.