2014 Anthony Award Nominees Announced


Boucnercon 2014 has announced the nominees for the 2014 Anthony Awards as follows:

Best Novel

 Robert Crais, Suspect (Putnam)※東京創元社より刊行予定

 Sara J. Henry, A Cold and Lonely Place (Crown Publishers)

 William Kent Krueger, Ordinary Grace (Atria Books)※早川書房より刊行予定

 Hank Phillippi Ryan, The Wrong Girl (Forge Books))

 Julia Spencer-Fleming, Through the Evil Days (Minotaur Books)

Best First Novel

 Matt Coyle, Yesterday’s Echo (Oceanview Publishing)

 Roger Hobbs, Ghostman (Alfred A. Knopf)※文藝春秋より刊行予定

 Becky Masterman, Rage Against the Dying (Minotaur Books)

 Kimberly McCreight, Reconstructing Amelia (HarperCollins)

 Todd Robinson, The Hard Bounce (Tyrus Books)※当サイトでの紹介記事はこちら→http://wordpress.local/1379973047

Best Paperback Original Novel

 Chris F. Holm, The Big Reap (Angry Robot)

 Darrell James, Purgatory Key (Midnight Ink)

 Stephen King, Joyland (Hard Case Crime)

 Alex Marwood, The Wicked Girls (Penguin Books)

 Catriona McPherson, As She Left It (Midnight Ink)

Best Short Story

 Craig Faustus Buck, “Dead End” (Untreed Reads)

 John Connolly, “The Caxton Private Lending Library & Book Depository” (Bibliomysteries, The Mysterious Bookshop)

 Denise Dietz, “Annie and the Grateful Dead” (The Sound and the Furry: Stories To Benefit the International Fund for Animal Welfare, Amazon Digital Services)

 Travis Richardson, “Incident on the 405” (Criminal Element’s Malfeasance Occasional: Girl Trouble, Macmillan)

 Art Taylor, “The Care and Feeding of Houseplants” (Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, March/April 2013)

Best Critical or Non-Fiction Work

 Maria Konnikova, Mastermind: How To Think Like Sherlock Holmes (Viking Adult)

 Cate Lineberry, The Secret Rescue: An Untold Story of American Nurses and Medics Behind Nazi Lines (Little, Brown and Company)

 Josh Stallings, All the Wild Children (Snubnose Press)

 Daniel Stashower, The Hour of Peril: The Secret Plot To Murder Lincoln Before the Civil War (Minotaur Books)

 Sarah Weinman (ed.), Troubled Daughters, Twisted Wives: Stories from the Trailblazers of Domestic Suspense (Penguin Books)

Best Children’s or Young Adult Novel

 Joelle Charbonneau, The Testing (Houghton Mifflin)

 Margaux Froley, Escape Theory (Soho Teen)

 Chris Grabenstein, Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library (Random House Children’s Books)

 Elizabeth Kiem, Dancer, Daughter, Traitor, Spy (Soho Teen)

 Penny Warner, The Code Busters Club: Mystery of the Pirate’s Treasure (Egmont USA)

Best Television Episode Teleplay First Aired in 2013

 The Blacklist, Pilot, by Jon Bokenkamp (Davis Entertainment, NBC, Sept. 2013)

 Breaking Bad, “Felina,” by Vince Gilligan (AMC, Sept. 2013)

 The Fall, “Dark Descent,” by Allan Cubitt (Netflix Original, May 2013)

 The Following, Pilot, by Kevin Williamson (Fox Network, Warner Bros. Television, Jan. 2013)

 Justified, “Hole in the Wall,” by Graham Yost (Fox Network, Warner Bros. Television, Jan. 2013)

Best Audio Book

 Crescendo by Deborah J Ledford, read by Christina Cox (Audible Studios)

 The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith, read by Robert Glenister (Hachette Audio)

 Death and the Lit Chick by G.M. Malliet, read by Davina Porter (Dreamscape Media)

 Hour of the Rat by Lisa Brackmann, read by Tracy Sallows (Audible Studios)

 Man in the Empty Suit by Sean Ferrell, read by Mauro Hantman (AudioGO)

Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient

 Jeffery Deaver

The winners will be announced on November 15 during Bouchercon 2014 to be held in Long Beach, California.