2014 Macavity Award Nominees Announced


The Mystery Readers International has announced the nominees for the 2014 Macavity Awards as follows:

Best Mystery Novel:

Sandrine’s Case, by Thomas H. Cook (Mysterious Press)

Dead Lions, by Mick Herron (Soho Crime)

Ordinary Grace, by William Kent Krueger (Atria Books)※早川書房より刊行予定

The Wicked Girls, by Alex Marwood (Penguin Books)

How the Light Gets In, by Louise Penny (Minotaur Books)

Standing in Another Man’s Grave, by Ian Rankin (Reagan Arthur Books)

Best First Mystery:

Yesterday’s Echo, by Matt Coyle (Oceanview Publishing)

Rage Against the Dying, by Becky Masterman (Minotaur Books)

Cover of Snow, by Jenny Milchman (Ballantine Books)

Norwegian by Night by Derek Miller (Faber & Faber)

A Killing at Cotton Hill, by Terry Shames (Seventh Street Books)※当サイトでの紹介記事はこちら→http://wordpress.local/1398812216

Best Mystery Short Story:

“The Terminal,” by Reed Farrel Coleman (Kwik Krimes, edited by Otto Penzler; Thomas & Mercer)

“The Caxton Private Lending Library & Book Depository,” by John Connolly (Bibliomysteries: Short Tales about Deadly Books, edited by Otto Penzler; Bookspan)

“The Dragon’s Tail,” by Martin Limon (Nightmare Range: The Collected Sueno and Bascom Short Stories, Soho Books)

“The Hindi Houdini,” by Gigi Pandian (Fish Nets: The Second Guppy Anthology, edited by Ramona DeFelice Long; Wildside Press)

“Incident on the 405,” by Travis Richardson (The Malfeasance Occasional: Girl Trouble, edited by Clare Toohey; Macmillan)

“The Care and Feeding of Houseplants,” by Art Taylor (Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, March/April 2013)

Best Nonfiction:

The Lady and Her Monsters: A Tale of Dissections, Real-Life Dr. Frankensteins, and the Creation of Mary Shelley’s Masterpiece, by Roseanne Montillo (William Morrow)

Being Cool: The Work of Elmore Leonard, by Charles J. Rzepka (Johns Hopkins University Press)

The Hour of Peril: The Secret Plot to Murder Lincoln Before the Civil War, by Daniel Stashower (Minotaur Books)

Sue Feder Historical Mystery Award:

A Murder at Rosamund’s Gate, by Susanna Calkins (Minotaur Books)

Saving Lincoln, by Robert Kresge (ABQ Press)

Dandy Gilver and a Bothersome Number of Corpses, by Catriona McPherson (Minotaur Books)

Murder as a Fine Art, by David Morrell (Little, Brown)

Ratlines, by Stuart Neville (Soho Crime)

The winners will be announced at Bouchercon, the World Mystery Convention in Long Beach (CA) on November 13.