2015 Agatha Award Nominees Announced


Malice Domestic has just announced the nominees for the 2015 Agatha Awards as follows:

Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient: Sara Paretsky

Best Contemporary:

The Good, the Bad, and the Emus, by Donna Andrews (Minotaur)

A Demon Summer, by G.M. Malliet (Minotaur)

Truth Be Told, by Hank Phillippi Ryan (Forge)

The Long Way Home, by Louise Penny (Minotaur)

Designated Daughters, by Margaret Maron (Grand Central)

Best Historical Novel:

Hunting Shadows, by Charles Todd (Morrow)

An Unwilling Accomplice, by Charles Todd (Morrow)

Wouldn’t It Be Deadly, by D.E. Ireland (Minotaur)

Queen of Hearts, by Rhys Bowen (Berkley)

Murder in Murray Hill, by Victoria Thompson (Berkley)

Best First Novel:

Circle of Influence, by Annette Dashofy (Henery Press)

Tagged for Death, by Sherry Harris (Kensington)

Finding Sky, by Susan O’Brien (Henery Press)

Well Read, Then Dead, by Terrie Farley Moran (Berkley)

Murder Strikes a Pose, by Tracy Weber (Midnight Ink)

Best Non-fiction:

400 Things Cops Know: Street-Smart Lessons from a Veteran Patrolman, by Adam Plantinga (Quill Driver)

Writes of Passage: Adventures on the Writer’s Journey, edited by Hank Phillippi Ryan (Henery Press)

Death Dealer: How Cops and Cadaver Dogs Brought a Killer to Justice, by Kate Flora (New Horizon Press)

The Art of the English Murder, by Lucy Worsley (Pegasus)

The Poisoner: The Life and Crimes of Victorian England’s Most Notorious Doctor, by Stephen Bates (Overlook)

Best Short Story:

“The Odds are Against Us,” by Art Taylor (Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, November 2014)

“Premonition,” by Art Taylor (from Chesapeake Crimes: Homicidal Holidays, edited by Barb Goffman and Marcia Talley; Wildside Press)

“The Shadow Knows,” by Barb Goffman (from Chesapeake Crimes: Homicidal Holidays)

Just Desserts for Johnny,” by Edith Maxwell (Kings River Life Magazine, January 4, 2014)

“The Blessing Witch,” by Kathy Lynn Emerson (from Best New England Crime Stories 2015: Rogue Wave, edited by Mark Ammons, Katherine Fast, Barbara Ross, and Leslie Wheeler; Level Best)

Best Children’s/Young Adult:

Andi Under Pressure, by Amanda Flower (ZonderKidz)

Greenglass House, by Kate Milford (Clarion)

Uncertain Glory, by Lea Wait (Islandport Press)

The Code Buster’s Club, Case #4, The Mummy’s Curse, by Penny Warner (Egmont USA)

Found, by Harlan Coben (Putnam Juvenile)

The winners will be announced on May 2 during the Malice Domestic conference to be held in Bethesda, Maryland.




The North American Branch of the International Association of Crime Writers is pleased to announce nominees for their annual HAMMETT PRIZE for a work of literary excellence in the field of crime writing by a US or Canadian author. The nominees are as follows:

Wayfaring Stranger: A Novel, by James Lee Burke (Simon & Schuster)

Smoke River, by Krista Foss (McClelland & Stewart)

Gangsterland: A Novel, by Tod Goldberg (Counterpoint)

Mr. Mercedes: A Novel, by Stephen King (Scribner)

Goodhouse: A Novel, by Peyton Marshall (Farrar, Straus & Giroux)

A reading committee of IACW/NA members selected the nominees, based on recommendations from other members and the publishing community. The committee was headed by Del Staecker and included Maria Hudgins, Heidi Noroozy, Howard Owen, and Allen Wyler.

The winner will be chosen by three distinguished outside judges: Morris Dickstein, author of Why Not Say What Happened: A Sentimental Education; Daniel Simon, Editor-in Chief of World Literature Today; and Frank Wilson, former Books Editor of The Philadelphia Inquirer and blogger at Booksinq.

The organization will name the HAMMETT PRIZE winner, during the New Atlantic Independent Booksellers Association’s (NAIBA) Fall Conference, in Somerset, New Jersey, October 2-4. The winner will receive a bronze trophy, designed by sculptor Peter Boiger.