CWA Dagger Award Shortlists (Part 1) Announced

(CWAダガー候補作発表 その1)

The Crime Writers’ Association of Britain (CWA) has announced the shortlists for five categories (Short story, International, Non-Fiction, Historical and Debut) of the 2015 CWA Dagger Awards as follows:

International Dagger:

Falling Freely, As If In A Dream, by Leif GW Persson (tr Paul Norlen) – Transworld

Camille, by Pierre Lemaitre (tr Frank Wynne) – Quercus

Cobra, by Deon Meyer (tr K.L Seegers) – Hodder & Stoughton

Arab Jazz, by Karim Miske (tr Sam Gordon) – MacLehose Press

The Invisible Guardian, by Dolores Redondo (tr Isabelle Kaufeler) – HarperCollins

Into a Raging Blaze, by Andreas Norman (tr Ian Giles) – Quercus

Short Story Dagger:

“Apocrypha,” by Richard Lange – Sweet Nothing – Mulholland Press

“Red Eye,” by Michael Connelly and Dennis Lehane – Face Off, edited by David Baldacci – Sphere

“The Hunter,” by Dashiell Hammett – The Hunter & Other Stories, edited by Richard Layman and Julie M. Rivett – No Exit Press

“Sweet Nothing,” by Richard Lange – Sweet Nothing – Mulholland Press

“Juror 8,” by Stuart Neville – OxCrimes – Profile Books

“The Dead Their Eyes Implore Us,” by George Pelecanos – OxCrimes – Profile Books

Non-Fiction Dagger:

In Plain Sight: The Life and Lies of Jimmy Savile, by Dan Davies – Quercus

A Kim Jong-Il Production, by Paul Fischer – Penguin

Ghettoside: Investigating a Homicide Epidemic, by Jill Leovy – Bodley Head

Gun Baby Gun: A Bloody Journey into the World of the Gun, by Iain Overton – Canongate

One of Us: The Story of Anders Breivik and the Massacre in Norway, by Asne Seierstad – Virago

Just Mercy: a story of justice and redemption, by Bryan Stevenson – Scribe

Endeavour Historical Dagger:

Havana Sleeping, by Martin Davies – Hodder & Stoughton

Lamentation, by C. J. Sansom – Mantle

The Man from Berlin, by Luke McCallin – No Exit Press

The Seeker, by S. G. MacLean – Quercus

The Silent Boy, by Andrew Taylor – Harper Collins

The Taxidermist’s Daughter, by Kate Mosse – Orion

Debut Dagger:

Dark Chapter, by Winnie M Li

Last Of The Soho Legends, by Greg Keen

The Ice Coffin, by Jill Sawyer

The Pure Drop, by Nigel Robbins

Lock Me In, by Kate Simants

The Dagger winners in these five categories will be announced on June 30 in London.