2016 Shamus Award Nominees Announced


The Private Eye Writers of America (PWA) has announced its nominees for the 2016 Shamus Awards as follows:

Best Hardcover Private Eye Novel:

  • The Promise, by Robert Crais (Putnam), featuring Elvis Cole & Joe Pike
  • Dance of the Bones, by J.A. Jance (Morrow), featuring J. P. Beaumont & Brandon Walker
  • Gumshoe, by Robert Leininger (Oceanview), featuring Mort Angel
  • Brush Back, by Sara Paretsky (Putnam), featuring V. I. Warshawski
  • Brutality, by Ingrid Thoft (Putnam), featuring Fina Ludlow

Best First Private Eye Novel:

  • The Red Storm, by Grant Bywaters (Minotaur), introducing William Fletcher
  • Night Tremors, by Matt Coyle (Oceanview), introducing Rick Cahill
  • Trouble in Rooster Paradise, by T. W. Emory (Coffeetown Press), introducing Gunner Nilson
  • Depth, by Lev Ac Rosen (Regan Arts), introducing Simone Pierce
  • The Do-Right, by Lisa Sandlin (Cinco Puntos Press), introducing Thomas Phelan

Best Original Private Eye Paperback:

  • Circling the Runway, by J. L. Abramo (Down & Out), featuring Jacob Diamond
  • The Long Cold, by O’Neil De Noux (Big Kiss), featuring Dino LaStanza
  • Split to Splinters, by Max Everhart (Camel Press), featuring Eli Sharpe
  • The Man in the Window, by Dana King (CreateSpace), featuring Nick Forte
  • Red Desert, by Clive Rosengren (Moonshine Cove), featuring Eddie Collins

Best Private Eye Short Story:

  • “The Runaway Girl from Portland, Oregon,” by C.B. Forrest (Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine [AHMM], October 2015), featuring Ray
  • “The Sleep of Death,” by David Edgerley Gates (AHMM, December 2015), featuring Placido Geist
  • “The Dead Client,” by Parnell Hall (from Dark City Lights: New York Stories, edited by Lawrence Block; Three Rooms Press), featuring Stanley Hastings
  • “The Dead Detective,” by Robert S. Levinson (from Coast to Coast: Murder from Sea to Shining Sea, edited by Andrew McAleer and Paul D. Marks; Down & Out)
  • “The Continental Opposite,” by Evan Lewis (AHMM, May 2015), featuring Peter Collins

The winners will be announced during the PWA banquet in New Orleans, Louisiana during Bouchercon 2016 this September.