Mystery Readers International has announced the nominees for the 2016 Macavity Awards as follows:

Best Mystery:

  • Little Black Lies, by Sharon Bolton (Minotaur)
  • The Long and Faraway Gone, by Lou Berney (Morrow)
  • The Hot Countries, by Tim Hallinan (Soho)
  • The Child Garden, by Catriona McPherson (Midnight Ink)
  • Life or Death, by Michael Robotham (Mulholland)
  • The Cartel, by Don Winslow (Knopf)

Best First Mystery:

  • Concrete Angel, by Patricia Abbott (Polis)
  • Past Crimes, by Glen Erik Hamilton (Morrow)
  • The Killing Kind, by Chris Holm (Mulholland)
  • Where All Light Tends to Go, by David Joy (Putnam)
  • The Unquiet Dead, by Ausma Zehanat Khan (Minotaur)
  • On the Road with Del and Louise, by Art Taylor (Henery)

Best Critical/Biographical:

  • The Golden Age of Murder: The Mystery of the Writers Who Invented the Modern Detective Story, by Martin Edwards (HarperCollins)
  • A Is for Arsenic: The Poisons of Agatha Christie, by Kathryn Harkup (Bloomsbury Sigma)
  • Meanwhile There Are Letters: The Correspondence of Eudora Welty and Ross Macdonald, edited by Suzanne Marrs & Tom Nolan (Arcade)
  • Forensics: What Bugs, Burns, Prints, DNA, and More Tell Us About Crime, by Val McDermid (Grove)
  • The Lost Detective: Becoming Dashiell Hammett, by Nathan Ward (Bloomsbury)

Best Short Story:

  • “The Little Men,” by Megan Abbott (MysteriousPress.com/Open Road)
  • “On Borrowed Time,” by Mat Coward (Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, June 2015)
  • “Sob Sister,” by Loren D. Estleman (Detroit Is Our Beat: Tales of the Four Horsemen, Tyrus)
  • “A Year Without Santa Claus,” by Barb Goffman (Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine, January/February 2015)
  • “Quack and Dwight,” by Travis Richardson (Jewish Noir, ed. Kenneth Wishnia, PM Press)
  • “A Joy Forever,” by B.K. Stevens (Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine, March 2015)

Sue Feder Historical Mystery Award:

  • The Masque of a Murderer, by Susanna Calkins (Minotaur)
  • A Gilded Grave, by Shelley Freydont (Berkley Prime Crime)
  • Tom & Lucky (and George & Cokey Flo), by C. Joseph Greaves (Bloomsbury)
  • The Lady from Zagreb, by Philip Kerr (Putnam)
  • Secret Life of Anna Blanc, by Jennifer Kincheloe (Seventh Street)
  • Dreaming Spies, by Laurie R. King (Bantam)

The winners will be announced at opening ceremonies at Bouchercon in New Orleans this September.