2021 Edgar Award Winners Announced

Mystery Writers of America (MWA) announced the winners for the 2021 Edgar Awards as follows:

Best Novel:DJINN PATROL ON THE PURPLE LINE, by Deepa Anappara (Random House)

Best First Novel: PLEASE SEE US, by Caitlin Mullen (Gallery Books)

Best Paperback Original: WHEN NO ONE IS WATCHING, by Alyssa Cole (Morrow)

Best Fact Crime: DEATH IN MUD LICK, by Eric Eyre (Scribner)

Best Critical/Biographical: PHANTOM LADY, by Christina Lane (Chicago Review Press)

Best Short Story: “Dust, Ash, Flight,” by Maaza Mengiste (in ADDIS ABABA NOIR, edited by Maaa Mengiste; Akashic Books)

Best Juvenile: PREMEDITATED MYRTLE, by Elizabeth C. Bunce (Algonquin)

Best Young Adult: THE COMPANION, by Katie Alender (Putnam)

Best Televition Episode Teleplay: “Episode 1, Photochemistry”Dead Still, Written by John Morton (Acorn TV)

Robert L. Fish Memorial Award Recipient: “The Bite,” by Colette Bancroft (in TAMPA BAY NOIR, Akashic Books)

Mary Higgins Clark Award: THE CABINETS OF BARNABY MAYNE, by Elsa Hart (Minotaur Books)

Sue Grafton Memorial Award: VERA KELLY IS NOT A MYSTERY, by Rosalie Knecht (Tin House Books)

Grand Master Award Recipients: Jefferey Deaver and Charlaine Harris

Raven Award Recipient: Malice Domestic

Ellery Queen Award Recipient: Reagan Arhtur, Publisher of Alfred A. Knopf

The winners were announced on April 29 online.