The Mystery Readers International has announced the nominees for the 2021 Macavity Awards as follows:

Best Novel: (6)
Before She Was Helen, by Caroline B. Cooney (Ecco Press)
Blacktop Wasteland, by S.A. Cosby (Flatiron Books)
Blind Vigil, by Matt Coyle (Oceanview Publishing)
All the Devils Are Here, by Louise Penny (Minotaur)
These Women, by Ivy Pochoda (Poisoned Pen Press)
When She Was Good, by Michael Robotham (Scribner)

Best First: (5)
Djinn Patrol on the Purple Line, by Deepa Anappara (Random House)

Murder in Old Bombay, by Nev March (Minotaur)
The Thursday Murder Club, by Richard Osman (Pamela Dorman Books)
Winter Counts, by David Heska Wanbli Weiden (Ecco Press)
Darling Rose Gold, by Stephanie Wrobel (Berkley)

Best Critical/Biographical: (5)
Sometimes You Have to Lie: The Life and Times of Louise Fitzhugh, Renegade
Author of Harriet the Spy, by Leslie Brody (Seal Press)
Howdunit: A Masterclass in Crime Writing by Members of the Detection Club, edited by Martin Edwards (HarperCollins)
Ian Rankin: A Companion to the Mystery Fiction, by Erin E. MacDonald (McFarland)
H R.F. Keating: A Life of Crime, by Sheila Mitchell (Level Best Books)
Southern Cross Crime: The Pocket Essential Guide to the Crime Fiction, Film & TV of Australia and New Zealand, by Craig Sisterson (Oldcastle Books)

Best Short Story: (5)
“Dear Emily Etiquette,” by Barb Goffman (Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, Sept/Oct 2020)
“The Boy Detective & The Summer of ’74” by Art Taylor (Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine, Jan/Feb 2020)
“Elysian Fields,” by Gabriel Valjan (California Schemin’: The 2020 Bouchercon Anthology, edited by Art Taylor; Wildside Press)
“Dog Eat Dog,” by Elaine Viets (The Beat of Black Wings: Crime Fiction
Inspired by the Songs of Joni Mitchell, edited by Josh Pachter; Untreed Reads Publishing)
“The Twenty-Five Year Engagement,” by James W. Ziskin (In League with Sherlock Holmes: Stories Inspired by the Sherlock Holmes Canon, edited by Laurie R. King; Pegasus Crime)

Sue Feder Memorial Award for Best Historical Mystery: (6)
The Last Mrs. Summers, by Rhys Bowen (Berkeley)
The Cabinets of Barnaby Mayne by Elsa Hart (Minotaur)
The Turning Tide, by Catriona McPherson (Quercus)
Mortal Music, by Ann Parker (Poisoned Pen Press)
The Mimosa Tree Mystery, by Ovidia Yu (Constable)
Turn to Stone, by James Ziskin (Seventh Street Books)

The winners will be announced at opening ceremonies on Thursday, August 26 at the Bouchercon in New Orleans, Louisiana.