2022 Lefty Award Winners Announced

On Saturday, April 9, Left Coast Crime 2022 announced the winners for the 2022 Lefty Awards as follows:

Lefty for Best Humorous Mystery Novel: Raquel V. Reyes, Mango, Mambo, and Murder (Crooked Lane Books)

Bill Gottfried Memorial Lefty for Best Historical Mystery Novel for books set before 1970: Naomi Hirahara, Clark and Division (Soho Crime)

Lefty for Best Debut Mystery Novel:Wanda M. Morris, All Her Little Secrets (William Morrow)

Lefty for Best Mystery Novel (not in other categories): William Kent Krueger, Lightning Strike (Atria Books)



On April 10, The International Association of Crime Writers/North America(IACW/NA) announced the Hammett Prize finalists for books published in 2021 for literary excellence in crime writing, as follows:

RAZORBLADE TEARS, by S.A. Cosby (Flatiron Books)
STUNG, by William Deverell (ECW Press)
FIVE DECEMBERS, by James Kestrel (Hard Case Crime)
HARLEM SHUFFLE, by Colson Whitehead (Doubleday)
THE SACRIFICE OF LESTER YATES, by Robin Yocum (Arcade Crime Wave)

The Hammett Prize winner will be decided early summer, and the location of the presentation will be announced soon after.