2022 CWA Dagger Award Winners Announced

Ray Celestin Wins Two Daggers

The Crime Writers’ Association of Britain (CWA) has announced the winners for the 2022 Dagger Awards as follows:

Gold Dagger: SUNSET SWING, by Ray Celestin (Mantle)

Ian Fleming Steel Dagger: DEAD GROUND, by M.W. Craven (Constable)

John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger: THE APPEAL, by Janice Hallett (Viper Books)

Historical Dagger: SUNSET SWING, by Ray Celestin (Mantle)

Translation Dagger: HOTEL CARTAGENA, by Simone Buchholz, trans by Rachel Ward (Orenda Books)

Gold Dagger for Non-Fiction: THE DISAPPEARANCE OF LYDIA HARVEY, by Julia Laite (Profile Books)

Short Story Dagger: “Flesh of a Fancy Woman,” by Paul Magrs (in CRIMINAL PURSUITS, Telos Publishing)

Dagger for the Best Crime & Mystery Publisher: Faber & Faber

Debut Dagger: THE 10:12, by Anna Maloney

Diamond Dagger Award Recipient: C.J. Sansom

Red Herring Award Recipient (for services to crime writing and the CWA): In memory of Thalia Proctor

The winners were announced during a “live gala dinner event” held on Wednesday, June 29, at the Leonardo City Hotel in London.