The Private Eye Writers of America (PWA) announced the nominees for the 2023 Shamus Awards as follows:

Best P.I. Hardcover:
The Wheel of Doll, by Jonathan Ames (Mulholland Books), featuring Happy Doll
The Big Bundle, by Max Allan Collins (Hard Case Crime), featuring Nate Heller
The Goodbye Coast, by Joe Ide (Mulholland Books), featuring Philip Marlowe
Holmes Coming, by Kenneth Johnson (Blackstone Publishing), featuring Sherlock Holmes
The Blackmail, by M. Ravenel (Chikara Press), featuring Tootsie Carter

Best Original P.I. Paperback:
Quarry’s Blood, by Max Allan Collins (Hard Case Crime), featuring Quarry
DoubleBlind, by Libby Fischer Hellmann (The Red Herrings Press), featuring Georgia Davis
Canary in a Coal Mine, by Charles Salzberg (Down & Out Books), featuring Pete Fortunato
Dead-Bang Fall, by J.R. Sanders (Level Best Books), featuring Nate Ross
Hush Hush, by Gabriel Valjan (Historia/Level Best Books), featuring Shane Cleary

Best First P.I. Novel:
Big Fat F@!k-up, by Lawrence Allan (M.S. Wooten Press), introducing Jimmy Cooper
Pay Dirt Road, by Samantha Jayne Allen (Minotaur Books), introducing Annie McIntyre
Foote, by Tom Bredehoft (West Virginia University Press), introducing Big Jim Foote
What Meets the Eye, by Alex Kenna (Crooked Lane Books), introducing Kate Myles
The Goldenacre, by Philip Miller (Soho Crime), introducing Thomas Tallis & Shona Sandison

Best P.I. Short Story:
“No Place for a Dame,” by Lori Armstrong (Edgar & Shamus Go Golden; Down & Out Books), featuring Vivian Marlow
“Charlie’s Medicine,” by Libby Cudmore (Lawyers, Guns, and Money: Crime Fiction Inspired by the Music of Warren Zevon; Down & Out Books), featuring Martin Wade
“A Jelly of Intrigue,” by O’Neil De Noux (Edgar & Shamus Go Golden; Down & Out Books), featuring Lucienn Caye
“The Pearl of Antilles,” by Caroline Garcia-Aguilera (Edgar & Shamus Go Golden; Down & Out Books), featuring Sophie Stevenson
“Bad Actor,” by Elliot Sweeney (Nov/Dec 2022, Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine), featuring Dylan Kaspar

The details on when and how the winners will be announced are unclear.