2024 Edgar Award Winners Announced

The Mystery Writers of America (MWA) announced the winners for the 2024 Edgar Awards as follows:

Best Novel: FLAGS ON THE BAYOU, by James Lee Burke (Atlantic Monthly Press)

Best First Novel by an American Author: The Peacock and the Sparrow, by I.S. Berry (Atria Books)
Best Paperback Original: Vera Wong’s Unsolicited Advice for Murderers, by Jesse Q. Sutanto (Berkley)
Best Fact Crime: Crooked, by Nathan Masters (Hachette Books)
Best Critical/Biographical: Love Me Fierce in Danger: The Life of James Ellroy, by Steven Powell (Bloomsbury Academic)
Best Short Story: “Hallowed Ground,” by Linda Castillo (Minotaur Books)
Best Juvenile The Ghosts of Rancho Espanto, by Adrianna Cuevas (Farrar, Straus and Giroux)
Best Young Adult: Girl Forgotten, by April Henry (Little, Brown/Christy Ottaviano Books)
Best Television Episode Teleplay: “Escape from Shit Mountain,” Written by Nora Zuckerman & Lilla Zuckerman (for Poker Face; Peacock)

Robert L. Fish Memorial Award: “The Body in Cell Two,” by Kate Hohl (Ellery
Queen’s Mystery Magazine, May-June 2023)

Mary Higgins Clark Award: Play the Fool, by Lina Chern (Bantam)

Sue Grafton Memorial Award: An Evil Heart, by Linda Castillo (Minotaur Books)
Lilian Jackson Braun Memorial Award: Glory Be, by Danielle Arceneaux
(Pegasus Crime)
Two Grand Master Award Recipients: Katherine Hall Page and R.L. Stine

Ellery Queen Award Recipient: Michaela Hamilton, Executive Editor at Kensington Publishing

The Edgar Award winners were announced at the Edgar Awards Ceremony held on Wednesday, May 01 at the Marriott Marquis Times Square in New York City.