CWA Dagger Shortlists Announced

The Crime Writers Association of Britain (CWA) announced its 2018 Dagger Shortlists on July 25 as follows:

CWA Gold Dagger:
The Liar, by Steve Cavanagh (Orion)
London Rules, by Mick Herron (John Murray)
Since We Fell, by Dennis Lehane (Little, Brown)

Bluebird, Bluebird, by Attica Locke (Serpent’s Tail)※早川書房より2018年12月刊行予定
A Necessary Evil, by Abir Mukherjee (Harvill Secker)
Resurrection Bay, by Emma Viskic (Pushkin Vertigo)

CWA Ian Fleming Steel Dagger:
London Rules, by Mick Herron (John Murray)
If I Die Before I Wake, by Emily Koch (Harvill Secker)
Bluebird, Bluebird, by Attica Locke (Serpent’s Tail)※早川書房より2018年12月刊行予定
An Act of Silence, by Colette McBeth (Wildfire)
The Chalk Man, by C.J. Tudor (Michael Joseph)

The Force, by Don Winslow (HarperFiction)

CWA John Creasey (New Blood) Dagger:
Gravesend, by William Boyle (No Exit Press)
IQ, by Joe Ide (Weidenfeld & Nicolson)

Girl in Snow, by Danya Kukafka (Picador)
Lola, by Melissa Scrivner Love (Point Blank)
East of Hounslow, by Khurrum Rahman (HQ)
Resurrection Bay, by Emma Viskic (Pushkin Vertigo)

CWA International Dagger:
Zen and the Art of Murder, by Oliver Bottini, translated by Jamie Bulloch (MacLehose Press)
Three Days and a Life, by Pierre Lemaitre, translated by Frank Wynne (MacLehose Press)
After the Fire, by Henning Mankell, translated by Marlaine Delargy (Harvill Secker)
The Frozen Woman, by Jon Michelet, translated by Don Bartlett (No Exit Press)
Offering to the Storm, by Dolores Redondo, translated by Nick Caistor and Lorenza Garzía (HarperCollins)
The Accordionist, by Fred Vargas, translated by Sian Reynolds (Harvill Secker)

CWA Historical Dagger:
  A Necessary Evil, by Abir Mukherjee (Harvill Secker)
  Fire, by L.C. Tyler (Constable)
  Lightning Men, by Thomas Mullen (Little, Brown)
  Money in the Morgue, by Ngaio Marsh and Stella Duffy (HarperCollins)
  Nine Lessons, by Nicola Upson (Faber and Faber)
  Nucleus, by Rory Clements (Zaffre)

CWA Short Story Dagger:
“The Last Siege of Bothwell Castle,” by Chris Brookmyre (from Bloody Scotland; Historic Environment Scotland)
“Second Son,” by Lee Child (from No Middle Name)
“Smoking Kills,” by Erin Kelly (from Killer Women: Crime Club Anthology #2)
“Nemo Me Impune Lacessit,” by Denise Mina (from Bloody Scotland)
“Accounting for Murder,” by Christine Poulson (from Mystery Tour: CWA Anthology of Short Stories, edited by Martin Edwards; Orenda)

CWA Gold Dagger for Non-Fiction:
Black Dahlia Rose, by Piu Eatwell (Coronet)
Killers of the Flower Moon, by David Grann (Simon & Schuster)

Blood on the Page, by Thomas Harding (Heinemann)
The Fact of a Body, by Alexandria Mariano-Lesnevich (Macmillan)
A False Report, by Alexandria Mariano-Lesnevich & Ken Armstrong (Hutchinson)
Rex V Edith Thompson, by Laura Thompson (Head of Zeus)

CWA Dagger in the Library: (Selected by nominations from libraries)
Martin Edwards
Nicci French
Simon Kernick
Edward Marston
Peter May
Rebecca Tope

CWA Debut Dagger (for unpublished writers):
The Eternal Life of Ezra Ben Simeon, by Bill Crotty
The Last Googling of Beth Bailly, by Luke Melia
Riverine Blood, by Joseph James
Original Sins, by Linda McLaughlin
Trust Me, I’m Dead, by Sherryl Clark

The winners will be announced during the CWA Dagger Awards dinner in London on October 25 in London.