Frederick Forsyth wins the 2012 CWA DiamondDagger


The CWA has announced the 2012 winner of its prestigious Diamond Dagger award, with the honour going to thriller writer Frederick Forsyth.

The Diamond Dagger will be presented to Frederick Forsyth at an award ceremony later this year.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * 

2012 Agatha Award Nominees Announced


Malice Domestic has announced the nominees for the 2012 Agatha Awards for books published during 2011 that honor the “traditional mystery” as follows:

Best Novel:

The Real Macaw, by Donna Andrews (Minotaur)

The Diva Haunts the House, by Krista Davis (Berkley)

Wicked Autumn, by G.M. Malliet (Minotaur)

Three-Day Town, by Margaret Maron (Grand Central)

A Trick of the Light, by Louise Penny (Minotaur)

Best First Novel:

Dire Threads, by Janet Bolin (Berkley)

Choke, by Kaye George (Mainly Murder Press)

Learning to Swim, by Sara J. Henry (Crown)

Who Do, Voodoo?, by Rochelle Staab (Berkley)

Tempest in the Tea Leaves, by Kari Lee Townsend (Berkley)

Best Non-fiction:

Books, Crooks and Counselors: How to Write Accurately About Criminal Law and Courtroom Procedure, by Leslie Budewitz (Linden)

Agatha Christie: Murder in the Making: More Stories and Secrets from Her Notebooks, by John Curran (Harper)

On Conan Doyle: Or, The Whole Art of Storytelling, by Michael Dirda (Princeton University Press)

Wilkie Collins, Vera Caspary and the Evolution of the Casebook Novel, by A. B. Emrys (McFarland)

The Sookie Stackhouse Companion, by Charlaine Harris (Ace)

Best Short Story:

Disarming,” by Dana Cameron, Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine – June 2011

Dead Eye Gravy,” by Krista Davis, Fish Tales: The Guppy Anthology, edited by Ramona DeFelice Long (Wildside Press)

Palace by the Lake,” by Daryl Wood Gerber, Fish Tales: The Guppy Anthology, edited by Ramona DeFelice Long (Wildside Press)

Truth and Consequences,” by Barb Goffman, Mystery Times Ten, edited by MaryChris Bradley (Buddhapuss Ink)

The Itinerary,” by Roberta Isleib, MWA Presents the Rich and the Dead, edited by Nelson DeMille (Grand Central)

Best Children’s/Young Adult:

Shelter, by Harlan Coben (Putnam)


The Black Heart Crypt, by Chris Grabenstein (Random House)

Icefall, by Matthew J. Kirby (Scholastic Press)

The Wizard of Dark Street, by Shawn Thomas Odyssey (EgmontUSA)

The Code Busters Club, Case #1: The Secret of the Skeleton Key, by Penny Warner (EgmontUSA)

Best Historical Novel:

Naughty in Nice, by Rhys Bowen (Berkley)

Murder Your Darlings, by J.J. Murphy (Signet)

Mercury’s Rise, by Ann Parker (Poisoned Pen Press)

Troubled Bones, by Jeri Westerson (Minotaur)

A Lesson in Secrets, by Jacqueline Winspear (Harper)

Lifetime Achievement Award: Simon Brett

Poirot Award: Lee Goldberg

Amelia Award: Elizabeth Peters

The winners will be announced at the Agatha Awards banquet to be held on April 28 in Bethesda, Maryland.