2014 Agatha Award Winners Announced


On May 03 at the banquet held in Bethesda, Maryland, Malice Domestic announced the winners of the 2014 Agatha Awards as follows:

Best First Novel:

Death Al Dente by Leslie Budewitz (Berkley Prime Crime)

Best Historical Novel:

A Question of Honor by Charles Todd (William Morrow)

Best Contemporary Novel:

The Wrong Girl by Hank Phillippi Ryan (Forge Books)

Best Nonfiction:

The Hour of Peril: The Secret Plot to Murder Lincoln Before the Civil War by Daniel Stashower (Minotaur Books)

Best Short Story:

“The Care and Feeding of House Plants” by Art Taylor (Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, March/April 2013)

Best Children’s/YA :

Escape from Mr. Lemoncello’s Library by Chris Grabenstein (Random House Books)

Lifetime Achievement Awards:

Dorothy Cannell

Joan Hess

Margaret Maron

Poirot Award:

Tom Schantz