2014 CWA Arthur Ellis Award Winners


Crime Writers of Canada (CWA) has announced the 2014 Arthur Ellis Award winners, including the recipient of the inaugural CWC Grand Master Award for Crime Writing in Canada as follows:

CWC Grand Master Award Recipient:

Howard Engel, the author of the Benny Cooperman private eye series

Best Novel:

Sean Haldane, The Devil’s Making (Stone Flower Press)

Best First Novel:

J. Kent Messum, Bait (Penguin Canada)

Best Novella:

Melodie Campbell, The Goddaughter’s Revenge (Orca Books)

Best Short Story:

Twist Phelan, “Footprints in Water” (Ellery Queen’s Mystery Magazine, July 2013)

Best Book in French:

Maureen Martineau, L’enfant promis (La courte echelle)

Best Juvenile/YA:

Elizabeth MacLeod, Bones Never Lie (Annick Press)

Best Unpublished First Novel (Unhanged Arthur):

Rachel Greenaway, Cold Girl