Shamus Award Winners Annunced during Bouchercon 2014


The Private Eye Writers of America (PWA) has announced the winners for its 2014 Shamus Awards as follows:

Hammer Award Recipient (for the best series charactor): Kinsey Millhone (accepted by Sue Grafton)

Best Hardcover PI Novel: THE GOOD COP, by Brad Parks (Minotaur)

Best First PI Novel: BEAR IS BROKEN, by Lachlan Smith (Mysterious Press)

Best Paperback Original: HEART OF ICE, by P.J. Parish

(Pocket Books)

Best PI Short Story: “So Long, Chief,” by Max A Collins and Mickey Spillane (The Strand Magazine #39, February-May, 2013)

Best Indie PI Novel: DON’T DARE A DAME,” by M. Ruth Myers (Tuesday House)

St Martins/PWA Award: THE RED STORM, by Grant Bywaters

To see the nominees in all the categories, click here. The winners were announced on November 14 at the PWA Banquet during Bouchercon in Long Beach, California.



Anthony Award Winners Announced


Boucnercon 2014 announced the winners for the 2014 Anthony Awards as follows:

Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient: Jeffery Deaver

Best Novel: ORDINARY GRACE, by William Kent Krueger (Atria)※早川書房より近刊

Best First Novel: YESTERDAY’S ECHO, by Matt Coyle (Oceanview Publishing)

Best Paperback Original: AS SHE LEFT IT, by Catriona McPherson (Midnight Ink)

Best Short Story: “The Caxton Private Lending Libray & Book Deporsitory,” by John Connolly (Bibliomysteries, The Mysterious Bookshop)

Best Critical or Non-Fiction Work: THE HOUR OF PERIL, by Daniel Stashower (minotaur Books)

Best Children’s or Young Adult Novel: THE TESTING, by Joelle Charbonneau (Houghton Mifflin)

Best Television Eposode Teleplay First Aired in 2013: ”The Blacklist,” Pilot, by Jon Bokenkamp (Davis Entertainment, NBC, Sep. 2013)

Best Audio Book: THE CUCKOO’S CALLING, by Robert Galbraith, read by Robert Glenister (Hachette Audio)

David Thompson Memorian Special Service Award Recipient: Judy Bobalik