Agatha Award Nominees Announced


Malice Domestic has announced the nominees for the 2017 Agatha Awards as follows:

Best Contemporary Novel

 Body on the Bayou, by Ellen Byron (Crooked Lane Books)

 Quiet Neighbors, by Catriona McPherson (Midnight Ink)

 A Great Reckoning, by Louise Penny (Minotaur Books)

 Fogged Inn, by Barbara Ross (Kensington)

 Say No More, by Hank Phillippi Ryan (Forge Books)

Best Historical Novel

 Whispers Beyond the Veil, by Jessica Estevao (Berkley)

 Get Me to the Grave on Time, by D.E. Ireland (Grainger Press)

 Delivering the Truth, by Edith Maxwell (Midnight Ink)

 The Reek of Red Herrings, by Catriona McPherson (Minotaur Books)

 Murder in Morningside Heights, by Victoria Thompson (Berkley)

Best First Novel

 Terror in Taffeta, by Marla Cooper (Minotaur)

 Murder in G Major, by Alexia Gordon (Henery Press)

 The Semester of Our Discontent, by Cynthia Kuhn (Henery Press)

 Decanting a Murder, by Nadine Nettmann (Midnight Ink)

 Design for Dying, by Renee Patrick (Forge Books)

Best Nonfiction

 Mastering Suspense, Structure, and Plot: How to Write Gripping Stories that Keep Readers on the Edge of Their Seats, by Jane K. Cleland (Writer’s Digest Books)

 A Good Man with a Dog: A Game Warden’s 25 Years in the Maine Woods, by Roger Guay with Kate Clark Flora (Skyhorse Publishing)

 Sara Paretsky: A Companion to the Mystery Fiction, by Margaret Kinsman (McFarland Books)

Best Short Story

 “Double Jinx: A Bellissimo Casino Crime Caper Short Story,” by Gretchen Archer (Henery Press)

 “The Best-Laid Plans,” by Barb Goffman in Malice Domestic 11: Murder Most Conventional (Wildside Press)

 “The Mayor and the Midwife,” by Edith Maxwell in Blood on the Bayou: Bouchercon Anthology 2016 (Down & Out Books)

 “The Last Blue Glass,” by B.K. Stevens in Alfred Hitchcock’s Mystery Magazine, April 2016

 “Parallel Play,” by Art Taylor in Chesapeake Crimes: Storm Warning (Wildside Press)

Best Children/Young Adult

 Trapped: A Mei-hua Adventure, by P.A. DeVoe (Drum Tower Press)

 Spy Ski School, by Stuart Gibbs (Simon & Schuster)

 Tag, You’re Dead, by J C Lane (Poisoned Pen Press)

 The Mystery of Hollow Places, by Rebecca Podos (Balzer & Bray)

 The Secret of the Puzzle Box: The Code Busters Club, by Penny Warner (Darby Creek)

Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient:

 Charlaine Harris

Poirot Award Recipient:

 Martin Edwards

The winners will be announced on April 29, 2017, at the Malice Banquet to be held in Bethesda, Maryland.